Sign In, Renew, Sign Up

Search AIA

Search AIA Go

Career StagesResources

Page Tools

Reed Insight and Community


Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship


The AIA Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship recognizes the significant contributions of emerging professionals at early stages in their careers and encourages them to complete the licensure process by defraying costs associated with the Architect Registration Examination (ARE). The AIA National Associates Committee developed the scholarship in honor and memory of their late friend and colleague, Jason Pettigrew. 

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2015 Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship!



Scholarship Details

Scholarship recipients receive:

    • Current edition of Kaplan Architecture Education ARE Essentials Library

    • Reimbursement for the cost of passing all divisions of the ARE one time.*

*Scholarship is subject to local, state, and federal tax.

A committee of distinguished professionals will select the recipients based on their satisfaction of the applicant criteria.


In order to be eligible for the Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship, interested applicants must fall into at least one of the following categories*:

    • an Associate AIA member in good standing, or

    • an NCARB record holder in good standing.

*National Associates Committee Executive Board members, Regional Associate Directors, and NAC publication Editors are not eligible.


The deadline for 2015 Submissions has passed. Applications for the 2016 scholarship will be available in March of 2016.


Applicants should demonstrate one or more of the following attributes:

    • Significant contributions at an early stage of career to the profession and/or community;

    • Exemplary involvement in community and/or professional organizations;

    • Outstanding achievement in the creation, development and delivery of creative programs for students, interns, Associates, and/or young architect members;

    • Demonstrated passion for pursuit of registration.

Scholarship submissions must include the following:

  • Completed application
  • Statement of contribution to the profession (limited to one page)
  • One professional biography and/or résumé (limited to two pages)
  • Primary recommendation letter (limited to one page)
  • Two additional letters of recommendation from a colleague or supervisor (limited to one page each)

    Proof of eligibility to sit for the ARE

Scholarship Recipients




2015 Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship Press Release

Beatrice Spolidoro, Assoc. AIA

Elizabeth Grabowski, Assoc. AIA

Megan Paris, Assoc. AIA

Esther Garcia, Assoc. AIA

Anthony Rojas, Assoc. AIA

Danielle E. McDonough, Assoc. AIA

Allison Conley, Assoc. AIA

Beau Frail, Assoc. AIA

Jared Hueter, Assoc. AIA

John Dealey, Assoc. AIA


2014 Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship Press Release
Rachel Brand, Assoc. AIA
Bruce Burchfield, Assoc. AIA
Danielle Cremer, Assoc. AIA
Erin Curley, Assoc. AIA
David Flecha, Assoc. AIA
Daniel Horn, Assoc. AIA
Christopher Lujan, Assoc. AIA
Jason Newman, Assoc. AIA
Samantha McCloud, Assoc. AIA
Allyson Pease, Assoc. AIA


2013 Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship Press Release
Dijana Alickovic, Assoc. AIA
Nicole Alvarez
Michael Archer, Assoc. AIA
Rachel Auerbach, Assoc. AIA
Gina DeLeon, Assoc. AIA
Erike DeVeyra, Assoc. AIA,
Steven Marrone, Assoc. AIA
Erin Porter, Assoc. AIA
Jaclyn Thomforde, Assoc. AIA
Melissa Threatt, Assoc. AIA


2012 Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship Press Release
Valerie J. Amor, Assoc. AIA, LEED AP BD+C
Jeff Bartosik, Assoc. AIA
Tami Beck, Assoc. AIA
Lauren DiBianca Frye, Assoc. AIA, LEED AP BD+C
Ryan Heusinkveld, Assoc. AIA, LEED AP BD+C
Miki Hirai, Assoc. AIA, LEED AP
Tina Hovsepian, Assoc. AIA
Jill Sornson Kurtz, Assoc. AIA, LEED AP BD+C
Andrew Mitchell, Assoc. AIA

Remembering Jason Pettigrew

About Jason Pettigrew, Assoc. AIA

Jason dedicated much of his time towards the development and growth of others and was committed to community and professional service through the AIA. He touched many lives through his engagement and AIA leadership roles at the local, state, and national levels. As a member of the first NAC Executive Board, Jason was instrumental in the formation of the NAC. He also served multiple years as an intern representative to the IDP Coordinating Committee and contributed to the development of the AIA Emerging Professional’ Companion released in 2004.

Ana Guerra, Assoc. AIA, 2005 Associate Representative to the AIA Executive Committee and former NAC Chair, stated, “Jason was committed to the future of the profession and kept all of our heads turned in the right direction–toward progress. He was an architecture intern’s strongest advocate on many fronts and created conversations for all of the profession to work as one.”

Jason graduated from the University of Colorado at Denver with his Master of Architecture in June 2000. At work, Jason maintained fervor for every project and activity in which he was involved. He had a particular passion for religious architecture and worked on an “Interfaith Sacred Space” as part of a competition sponsored by the AIA Interfaith Forum on Religious Art and Architecture. He was active in the Episcopal Diocese of Denver as a member of the Commission on Church Architecture and the Allied Arts, and was an active member of St. John’s Episcopal Church.

Jason’s passion also extended to the outdoors and he enjoyed hiking, climbing, and camping. These experiences informed his dedication to a sustainable world, and he became a strong advocate for sustainable architecture. His desire to climb all of the 14,000 foot peaks in Colorado became a goal equal to his desire to obtain his architectural license.

He was equally committed to the community of the American Institute of Architects where he was devoted in his support and development of the Associate Architect. He published numerous articles, championed committees, and led special events. Jason influenced his firm in many ways including serving as an advocate for community outreach. Jason’s own words, taken from his nomination for “Associate AIA Member of the Year Award,” submitted on his behalf in April 2004, encapsulate his dedication: “I believe service to our community is part of our responsibility as architects.”


Footer Navigation

Copyright & Privacy

  • © The American Institute of Architects
  • Privacy