Sign In, Renew, Sign Up

Search AIA

Search AIA Go

EducationContinuing Education System

Page Tools

Reed Insight and Community


Learning Unit (LU) Guidelines:

All approved provider courses are eligible for general course LUs. General course LUs are reserved for courses on a wide range of topics, in which 75 percent of the course content is not related to HSW and/or SD course topics. The total number of course LUs in advertisements and on certificates of completion should be written as (# hours_ LU Hour). For example, if your course is one hour in length, it would be written as 1 LU Hour.

The AIA/CES continuing education program is directed exclusively to architect, engineer, and construction industry (AEC) professionals and primarily serves AIA architect members.

A course approved for the Learning Unit (LU) designation must be applicable to the architecture industry and benefit or enhance an architect’s practice. In addition, approved courses should help architects to, Acquire new knowledge or skills, Build upon or expand current knowledge or skills, Stay up to date on new developments in the field, Learn best practices, Advance their careers by teaching content that will lead to additional certifications or degrees, think creatively and develop new ideas.

Furthermore, Learning Unit courses must be implemented and delivered with the intent to teach and must be strictly educational in nature. Therefore, product or services promotions are not permitted at any time during a course.

What Qualifies as a Learning Unit:

    Courses which cover Historical aspects of architecture

    Courses which cover historical events, such as natural disasters, and their impact on the architectural community.

    Courses that feature the methodology and practice of an architecture firm

What does not qualify as a Learning Unit:


Footer Navigation

Copyright & Privacy

  • © The American Institute of Architects
  • Privacy