Sign In, Renew, Sign Up

Search AIA

Search AIA Go

Practicing ArchitecturePracticing Architecture

Page Tools

Reed Insight and Community


2011 Tuttle Fellowship Winners

Heather Bachman of Clemson University, Eva Behringer of Clemson University, and Erin Peavy of Texas A&M University are the 2010‐2011 American Institute of Architects' Academy of Architecture for Health and STERIS, Arthur N. Tuttle, Jr. Graduate Fellows in Health Facility Planning and Design.

The winning proposals address different issues in health care architecture. Ms. Bachman’s research focuses on the actuality that “recent market trends, lack of desirable long-term care options, and an imminent population boom indicate demand for a broader continuum of healthcare services more widely available to America’s elderly. Adult Day Health Services (ADHS) is an important, cost-effective component within this continuum, enabling aging in place and offering support to caregivers struggling to keep their loved ones out of institutionalized care. ADHS are appropriate for both the physically and cognitively impaired.”

Ms. Behringer’s proposal noted “daylight is a necessity for human life, as well as health and wellbeing. However, in most hospitals in the U.S., nurses’ stations, clinic areas and most of the area in Diagnostic and Treatment Blocks do not have access to natural light. Buildings are energy inefficient mainly due to the excessive need for artificial lighting and/or air conditioning.”

Behringer’s work will focus on developing design guidelines for future hospitals to reconnect hospitals to natural conditions like daylight.

For today’s health providers, the importance of interdisciplinary teamwork and communication is key to successful outcomes. Ms. Peavy recognizes that clinical communication and collaboration has been acknowledged as fundamental to enhanced patient care and improved patient safety. Her research will focus on addressing the role of the environment in fostering clinical collaboration and communication on nursing units.

Their awards are for the academic year, commencing immediately, and ending in the fall of 2011. Each recipient will make a final presentation during the 2011 Academy of Architecture for Health (AAH) fall conference.

The fellowship began in 1961 as a result of James J. Souder’s, AIA, vision of building a program that would encourage students in schools of architecture and young architects to develop and refine their interests in the design of hospitals.

In 2003 the fellowship was renamed the AIA Arthur N. Tuttle Jr. Graduate Fellowship in Health Facility Planning and Design in honor of Arthur N. Tuttle Jr., AIA (1931–2003), a University of Oklahoma architecture professor who exhibited committed leadership to the program over the years.

Originally the goal of the fellowship was “to encourage young architects and students to enter the specialized field of hospital planning.” The goal has been expanded to include the following purposes:

    • To increase architecture students' awareness of the special requirements and nature of healthcare facilities

    • To attract talented young architects to this challenging area of professional practice

    • To advance the knowledge of planning and design for healthcare environments.

During the past 44 years, 100 graduate fellows have been selected and awarded fellowships. Of those, 89 were awarded to students completing their academic work in architecture or a closely related field. Eleven were awarded to individuals who had already received professional degrees in architecture or who were associated with architecture firms or healthcare organizations.


Back to AIArchitect September 10, 2010 Issue

Go to the current issue of AIArchitect


Footer Navigation

Copyright & Privacy

  • © The American Institute of Architects
  • Privacy