Sign In, Renew, Sign Up

Search AIA

Search AIA Go

Practicing ArchitectureAwards

Page Tools

CMD Insight for Architects


AIA/ALA Library Building Awards

To encourage excellence in the architectural design and planning of libraries, the AIA and the American Library Association/Library Leadership and Management Association created this award to distinguish accomplishments in library architecture.

2013 Recipients


The deadline for the 2013 AIA/ALA Library Building Awards program has passed.

The official announcement for the 2013 AIA/ALA Library Building Awards will be in AIArchitect on May 24, 2013.

Recipients and submitters will be notified by late April of the results using the email addresses provided in the online submission forms.

The 2013 AIA/ALA Library Building Awards Call for Entries is available for your use as a guide.


All entries shall be library building projects designed by architects licensed in the United States. The libraries may be built anywhere in the world and the 2013 program is open to all types of libraries that permit public access and that have been completed since December 1, 2006 and be occupied and in service by January 11, 2013.

2013 Jury

Jeanne M. Jackson, FAIA, Chair
VCBO Architecture, Salt Lake City

John R. Dale, FAIA
Harley Ellis Devereaux, Los Angeles

Charles Forrest
Emory University Libraries, Atlanta

Kathleen Imhoff
Lexington, Kentucky

J. Stuart Pettitt, AIA
Straub Pettitt Yaste, Clawson, Michigan

John F. Szabo
Los Angeles Public Library, Los Angeles

Elizabeth Henry
Director, AIA Awards
1735 New York Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20006


Footer Navigation

Copyright & Privacy

  • © The American Institute of Architects
  • Privacy