Sign In, Renew, Sign Up

Search AIA

Search AIA Go

Practicing ArchitectureAwards

Page Tools

Reed Insight and Community


Twenty-five Year Award

The Institute Honor Awards program recognizes achievements for a broad range of architectural activity in order to elevate the general quality of architectural practice, to establish a standard of excellence against which all architects can measure performance, and to inform the public expectations for architectural practice, its breadth, and its value.




This award, recognizing architectural design of enduring significance, is conferred on a project that has stood the test of time for 25 to 35 years. The project must have been designed by an architect licensed in the United States at the time of the project’s completion. AIA members, components, and knowledge communities are urged to submit projects.

    • Any AIA member, group of members, component, or AIA knowledge community may nominate a project for the Twenty-five Year Award.

    • The award is open to architectural projects of all classifications and may be one building or a related group of buildings forming a single project.

    • The project must be standing in a substantially completed form and in good condition.

    • The project should still carry out the original program. Change of use is permitted when it has not basically altered original intent.

    • The project must have excellence in function—in the distinguished execution of its original program and in the creative aspects of its statement by today's standards. Building and site together should be examined. Any alteration to the immediate context shall be taken into consideration.

    • Nominations previously submitted may be resubmitted provided they still meet the stipulated date of substantial completion of the original project.

2016 Call for Entries

View the 2016 Call for Entries

2016 Deadline & Entry Fee

The deadline for 2016 submissions has passed. Please check back in the Spring of 2016 for information on the 2017 program.

There is no entry fee for this program.

2016 Jury


Josiah Stevenson, FAIA (Chair)
Leers Weinzapfel Associates Architects

José Alvarez, AIA
New Orleans

Brad Cloepfil, AIA
Allied Works Architecture, Inc.
Portland, Oregon

Roberto de Leon, AIA
De Leon & Primer Architecture Workshop

Julie Eizenberg, FAIA
Koning Eizanberg Architecture, Inc.
Santa Monica, California

Julie Engh, Assoc. AIA
Highland Associates
New York City

Elizabeth Hallas, AIA
Anderson Hallas Architects, P.C.
Golden, Colorado

Danielle Jones
AIAS Representative
Zelienople, Pennsylvania

Christian Zimmerman
Prospect Park Alliance
Brooklyn, New York

Submission Preview

Carefully review the 2016 AIA Twenty-five Year Award Submission Preview before beginning an entry.

Submission Criteria

Projects are strongly encouraged to meet the expectations set with our “Public Policy: Architects are Environmentally Responsible” Position statement on page 18. As well they are encouraged to meet the AIA 2030 Commitment, which currently call for a minimum 70% reduction in energy use from regional baselines.

Project Information: Please describe the condition of the project (maximum of 500 words) with respect to site and general appearance at the time of the submission, along with a brief outline of the transformations, if any, which may have taken place in the interim period.

Sustainable Design Intent and Innovation: Describe (maximum of 500 words) the sustainable design strategies and innovations, which could be as basic as appropriate orientation, responsible land use, sun shading, natural ventilation, etc.

Upload Requirements

    • Project images must be submitted in a single .PDF file not to exceed 10 MB and 26 pages.

    • When possible, images should include the building in use and the following in any order to best tell the jury your project's story:

    1. A one-page nomination statement by the sponsoring AIA member, group of members, component, or Knowledge Community

    2. A minimum of four images to properly illustrate the project in its original condition

    3. A minimum of two images of the project in its current condition

    4. Site and floor plans (to properly illustrate the project in its original condition)

    5. Site and floor plans of intervening changes, if any, to assist the jury in its evaluation

Additional Tips

    • Composite pages are acceptable.

    • Text/notes on images/drawings are allowed.

    • Indicate the scale used on any drawings or plans.

    • Consistent use of either a horizontal or portrait landscape is encouraged throughout the submission.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Do I have to start and finish my submission in one session?
No. You can start your submission and come back to finish it before the deadline date of 5:00 pm Eastern Time.

What if I want to make changes to my entry after I have completed my submission?
You can enter the system at any time to edit or update your submission before the deadline date prior to 5:00 pm, Eastern Time.

How will I know my submission has been received?
Upon submitting your entry, you will receive a confirmation e-mail message containing your submission details.

What should I do if I did not receive a confirmation e-mail containing my submission details?

First, check your junk mail folder – the most likely problem is that your spam filter sent the e-mail from to your junk mail. You should change your account settings to accept future e-mail from us. If it did not go into your junk mail folder, please contact for assistance.

Begin Your Submission

The deadline for submission completion was August 21, 2015 before 5:00 PM Eastern.

Questions may be directed to

Past Recipients

Past Recipients


Elizabeth Henry
Director, AIA Awards
1735 New York Avenue, NW
Washington DC 20006


Go back to our
Main Awards Page

Contact our

Visit our
Announcement Page


Footer Navigation

Copyright & Privacy

  • © The American Institute of Architects
  • Privacy