Sign In, Renew, Sign Up

Search AIA

Search AIA Go

Practicing ArchitectureAwards

Page Tools

Reed Insight and Community


Edward C. Kemper Award

The Edward C. Kemper Award honors Edward C. Kemper, Hon. AIA who devoted nearly 35 years of his life to the Institute as executive director from 1914 to 1948. This award is conferred by the national Board of Directors on an architect member who has contributed significantly to the profession through service to the American Institute of Architects.




Members of the national AIA Board of Directors, AIA Strategic Council, a component or knowledge community may make nominations for the Edward C. Kemper Award.

Members of the Board and Strategic Council, past officers of the Institute out of office less than three years are not eligible for the Edward C. Kemper Award.

2016 Call for Nominations

View the 2016 Call for Nominations

2016 Deadline & Entry Fee

The deadline for submissions is October 2, 2015 before 5:00 Eastern time.

There is no entry fee for this program.

2016 Jury


Drew White, FAIA (Chair)
Axis Architecture & Interiors

Ric Bell, FAIA
City of New York, Department of Design and Construction
New York City

Sarah Dirsa, AIA

KG&D Architects

Mt. Kisco, New York

Daniel Feil, FAIA
Dwight D. Eisenhower Memorial Commission
Washington, D.C.

Jennifer Penner, Assoc. AIA
Albuquerque, NM

Submission Preview

Carefully review the 2016 Edward C. Kemper Award Submission Preview before beginning an entry.

Submission Criteria

Candidates will be evaluated on how well they meet the program criteria which is to be uploaded as a single PDF file smaller than 10 MB in the order listed and not to exceed 29 pages:

    1. A one-page nomination letter by a member of the national AIA Board of Directors, or a component, or AIA knowledge community that summarizes the candidate's contributions.

    2. A biography of the candidate, not to exceed two pages, including a list of offices, positions, honors, publications, and presentations that relate to the purpose of the award.

    3. A one-page statement of contributions that illustrates the effect of the candidate's work.

    4. Exhibits (maximum of 15 pages) with images and/or drawings or other materials that best demonstrate the outstanding accomplishments made by the candidate that relate to the purpose of the award.

    5. A minimum of seven to a maximum of ten one-page letters of support that are explicit in their recommendation and contain specific reasons supporting the candidate's nomination (the one page letter is to be written on company letterhead and signed with either an original or electronic signature).

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Do I have to start and finish my submission in one session?
No. You can start your submission and come back to finish it before the deadline date of 5:00 pm Eastern Time.

What if I want to make changes to my entry after I have completed my submission?
You can enter the system at any time to edit or update your submission before the deadline date prior to 5:00 pm, Eastern Time.

How will I know my submission has been received?
Upon submitting your entry, you will receive a confirmation e-mail message containing your submission details.

What should I do if I did not receive a confirmation e-mail containing my submission details?

First, check your junk mail folder – the most likely problem is that your spam filter sent the e-mail from to your junk mail. You should change your account settings to accept future e-mail from us. If it did not go into your junk mail folder, please contact for assistance.

Begin Your Submission

Begin your submission.

The deadline for submissions is October 2, 2015 before 5:00 pm Eastern time.

Questions may be directed to

Past Recipients

Complete List of Recipients


Kathleen Daileda, Hon. AIA
Director, AIA Awards
1735 New York Avenue, NW
Washington DC 20006


Go back to our
Main Awards Page

Contact our

Visit our
Announcement Page


Footer Navigation

Copyright & Privacy

  • © The American Institute of Architects
  • Privacy