Sign In, Renew, Sign Up

Search AIA

Search AIA Go

Practicing ArchitectureKnowledge Communities

Page Tools

Reed Insight and Community


Corporate Architects and Facility Management Scholarship

The AIA Corporate Architects and Facility Management (CAFM) scholarship is administered in conjunction with the staff of National Architectural Accrediting Board-approved programs of architecture in the United States and RAIC Canadian schools of architecture.

The Scholarship Submission Deadline is February 27, 2015




    The CAFM Knowledge Community awards (2) $5,000 scholarships.

    The scholarships were awarded for a full academic year beginning Fall 2015. The award may not be used retroactively, deferred for use later, used for a partial year, or transferred to another individual.

    Awards will be announced in June 2015.

Eligibility Requirements

Applicants must be enrolled and working toward their first professional degree in architecture and can be:

    • In the third or fourth year of a five-year program that results in a BArch degree

    • In the fourth or fifth year of a six-year program (4+2 or other combination) that results in an MArch degree

    • In the second or third year of a three- to four-year program which results in a MArch degree and with an undergraduate degree in a discipline other than architecture.


AIA members serving on the Corporate Architects and Facility Management Scholarship Advisory Group will select the recipients on the basis of academic performance, the recommendation letter, portfolio work and the essay. All decisions are final. Applications and enclosures become the property of the American Institute of Architects.


Submission Requirements:

A completed scholarship application

    • A transcript from each academic institution attended since high school

    • One letter of recommendation

    • Current résumé

    • Portfolio of three student projects

    • An essay on one of the three topics provided


Learn more about how to submit here.

Past Recipients

2013 Recipients:

Dominic Lacivita: Professional Sense: Architect-Builder-Developer
Elizabeth Yarina: A Discipline in Crisis

Other past recipients:

Sarah Kott: Building with Hope
Gabrielle Aguirre: “Translations from Corporate Goals to Space
Karen L. Wong: “The Business of Architecture
Joshua David Crawford: “Hands-On Training
Daniel J. Beeker: “Studio Interface
Camila Herrera: “Collaboration with Corporate Clients in a Studio Setting


Questions? Please send inquiries to:


Footer Navigation

Copyright & Privacy

  • © The American Institute of Architects
  • Privacy