Sign In, Renew, Sign Up

Search AIA

Search AIA Go

Practicing ArchitectureKnowledge Communities

Page Tools

Reed Insight and Community


TAP BIM 2006 Award Winners

On June 6, the Second Annual BIM [Building Information Modeling] Awards Competition announced seven citation winners and one honorable mention during its conference, Models for the Future of the Architecture Profession: The Risks, Rewards, and Opportunities of Technology in Los Angeles. Recipients were on hand to accept certificates during a presentation conducted by the Technology in Architectural Practice Knowledge Committee. Awards were presented in the following six categories—

Creating Stellar Architecture Using BIM
Fredric C Hamilton Building, Denver Art Museum, Denver, CO

Submitter: M.A. Mortenson Company

Design/Delivery Process Innovation Using BIM
Flint Global V6 Plant Expansion, Flint, MI

Submitter: Ghafari Associates/GM

Inspirational Pilot Projects Demonstrating New Ways Forward
Satterfield & Pontikes Corporate Headquarters, Houston, TX

Analysis or Simulation
Georgia State University Library North Plaza, Atlanta, GA

Herbert C Hoover Building, Washington, DC

Jury’s Choice
Merck Research Laboratories Boston, Boston, MA

Honorable Mention—Academic Program
Elgin Fire Station #6, Elgin, IL


The competition was juried by a panel of experts in both architecture and technological change.

Peter Beck, The Beck Group, Managing Director

Charles Eastman, Professor, Architecture and Computing/Director, Georgia Institute of Architecture

Stephen Kieran, Kieran Timberlake Associates

William Mitchell, Professor of Architecture and Media Arts and Sciences, The Media Laboratory—MIT

Martha Thorne, Executive Director of the Pritzker Prize

For questions about the BIM Awards, or the Technology in Architectural Practice Knowledge Community, please send an e-mail to


Footer Navigation

Copyright & Privacy

  • © The American Institute of Architects
  • Privacy