Sign In, Renew, Sign Up

Search AIA

Search AIA Go

Practicing ArchitectureKnowledge Communities

Page Tools

Reed Insight and Community


2007 CAE Educational Facility Design Awards

The AIA Committee on Architecture for Education honored 14 educational and cultural facilities in the 2007 CAE Educational Facility Design Awards: six receiving Awards of Excellence, four receiving Awards of Merit, and four receiving Citations.

Of about 110 submittals received before the deadline in January, the jurors identified 35 projects for further consideration. CAE Leadership Group member John Weekes, AIA, and American Architectural Foundation President and CEO Ron Bogle, Hon. AIA, presented the awards to the final 14 recipients at a general session during the School Building Expo in West Palm Beach, Florida. View the trends and awards presentation.

The 2007 jury was chaired by John Weekes, AIA, Dull Olson Weekes Architects, Portland, OR. The jury consisted of Bruce Kuwabara, Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects, Toronto; Barbara Helton-Berg, AIA, IBI Group / Thomas Blurock Architects, Los Angeles; Robert Ivy, FAIA, editor-in-chief, Architectural Record, New York City; Ron Bogle, Hon. AIA, CEO and president, American Architectural Foundation, Washington, D.C.; Dr. George Copa, professor and director, New Designs for Learning, Oregon State University, Corvallis, Ore., and 2006 CEFPI Planner of the Year.

Awards of Excellence

The projects shown below represented exemplary practice and exhibited innovation and excellence in all three of the following areas of educational facility planning and design:

    • A planning and design process that is educational, collaborative, and builds the capacity of the school and its community to support its students

    • Enhancement of the client’s educational program through the thoughtful planning and design of facilities

    • Integration of function and aesthetics in designs that also respect the surrounding community and context

Benjamin Franklin Elementary School, Kirkland, Wash.
Mahlum Architects, Seattle

Photo: Benjamin Benschneider

Blythewood High School, Columbia, S.C.
Perkins+Will Architects, Chicago

Photo: James Steinkamp

Frederick Douglass – Isaac Myers Maritime Park, Baltimore
Ziger/Snead Architects, Baltimore

Photo: Alain Jaramillo

Henry A. Wallace Visitor and Education Center, Hyde Park, N.Y.
RM Kliment & Frances Halsband Architects, New York City

Photo: Cervin Robinson

Seminar II, The Evergreen State College, Olympia, Wash.
Mahlum Architects, Seattle
Photo: Lara Swimmer, Kaie Wellman

Sidwell Friends Middle School, Washington, D.C.
Kieran Timberlake Associates, Philadelphia
Photo: Barry Halkin

Awards of Merit

These projects were of superior quality and represented exemplary practice in two of the planning and design areas listed above:

    Media Arts Studio, Cambridge, Mass.
    HMFH Architects, Cambridge, Mass.

    Nathan Hale High School Performing Arts Center, Seattle
    Mahlum Architects, Seattle

    The Ocean Education Center, Dana Point, Calif.
    Bauer and Wiley Architects, Newport Beach, Calif.

    Ohio State University World Media & Culture Center, Columbus, Ohio
    Leers Weinzapfel Associates, Boston


These projects were recognized for outstanding features:

    Feather River Academy, Yuba City, Calif.
    Architecture for Education, Pasadena, Calif.

    James B. Dudley High School, Greensboro, N.C.
    Gantt Huberman Architects, Charlotte

    Technology Square, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta
    Thompson, Ventulett, Stainback & Associates, Atlanta

    Winchester Thurston School, North Hills Campus, Allison Park, Pa.
    Bohlin Cywinski Jackson, Pittsburgh

Return to the CAE Educational Facility Design Awards Home page.


Footer Navigation

Copyright & Privacy

  • © The American Institute of Architects
  • Privacy