Places of worship have long stood as emblems of artistic, spiritual, and architectural expression. The AIA Interfaith Design knowledge community sponsors the Elbert M. Conover Memorial Award, which recognizes non-architects for their contributions to religious architecture.

The award is offered in memory of Dr. Elbert M. Conover who, after 11 years in the ministry, served as director of the Bureau of Architecture of the Methodist Church in 1924. He became the first director of the Bureau of Church Building and Architecture, National Council of the Churches of Christ of the United States of America.

The Elbert M. Conover Award is open to all non-architects who have demonstrated a passion for and dedication to quality worship and sacred spaces, fostered spiritual values, and promoted a cross-denominational community focused on religious arts and architecture. Recipients must have worked with architects during the design and construction of religious projects—for example, helping to secure funding and support for sacred spaces.

Image credits