Great public architecture embodies the identity and values of a society. This award, previously known as the Thomas Jefferson Award, was established in 1992 to recognize the importance of public officials or individuals who by their role and advocacy have furthered the public’s awareness and appreciation of design excellence in public architecture.

Any AIA member, group of members, component, or AIA knowledge community may nominate candidates in the following three categories:

  • Category one: private sector architects licensed in the US with an established portfolio of accomplishment in distinguished public facilities
  • Category two: public sector architects employed in the US public sector or in US government agencies that manage or produce public architecture
  • Category three: public officials or private individuals advocating for or furthering public awareness and appreciation of quality public architecture

Image credits