The Aya-07

2022 AIA Housing Award Recipient, The Aya, Washington, District of Columbia, studio twenty seven architecture

It’s a life necessity, a sanctuary for the human spirit, and many people’s first and most personal encounter with architecture: the house. By recognizing the best in home design, AIA Housing Awards show the world how beauty, safety, sustainability, and comfort can come together.


  • Architects licensed in the U.S. or any owner of a structure or project.
  • On team projects, the architect submitting the entry does not have to be head of the team.
  • All team, group, or firm projects must credit all who substantially contributed in any capacity (for example, landscape architects and construction firms).


• New construction, renovations, and restorations are eligible.

• Unbuilt projects are accepted for the Community-Engaged Design category

• Projects must have been completed after January 1, 2017.

Image credits

The Aya-07

Anice Hoachlander