Henry Adams Medal and Certificate

February 1 – September 30, 2019
12:00 am -11:59 pm EDT
Online submission



For more than a century, the AIA has provided a medal of excellence to the top graduating students in National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) or Canadian Architectural Certification Board (CACB) accredited degrees, Bachelor of Architecture, Master of Architecture, or Doctor or Architecture. The award is named in honor of Henry Adams (1838-1918), a historian, author, and scholar who donated his book, Mont-Saint-Michel and Chartres, and eventually the royalties from his book, to the AIA.  

In 2018, a new medal and process was announced that aligns with the original 1914 resolution that established this award. Schools may submit the name of one graduate of a BArch, MArch, or DArch program, who displays "general excellence" throughout their academic career for this medal and certificate. The Certificate of Merit for the second-ranked student has been discontinued. Please also note that a BS, BA, MS, or MA architecture degree (not accredited by NAAB) are not eligible for this award.

The annual submission period is open from February - September. Please submit early so the medals can be worn at graduation ceremonies. Please allow 4-6 weeks for mailing and processing.

Contact: Dr. Nissa Dahlin-Brown, Assoc. AIA, with any questions.

View past recipients >


Image credits