Architects Foundation quadruples its diversity advancement scholarships

Scholarship expansion provides financial support to 20 students enrolling in architecture studies.

WASHINGTON – June 19, 2018 – The Architects Foundation is quadrupling its number of scholarships from last year and awarding 20 new multiyear scholarships to students attending NAAB-accredited schools of architecture.

The Foundation—the philanthropic partner of the American Institute of Architects (AIA)—is also more than doubling the number of students currently assisted by its multiyear scholarship program with a $1 million investment from AIA. As part of the Foundation’s program, scholars receive $4,000 per year for up to five years.

“The Diversity Advancement Scholarship was established by the AIA and the Ford Foundation following a 1968 speech by Whitney M. Young Jr. calling upon architects to do more for the community. Young’s charge included scholarships for minority students, and in 1970, 20 awards were made,” said Architects Foundation Executive Director Marci Reed. “Fifty years after Young’s challenge, we are pleased to be back at this impressive level of effort to create a diverse next generation of architects and community builders.”

Two of the new 20 scholars are funded by Benjamin Moore & Co. Foundation and will receive an additional $1,000 per year. The AIA Custom Residential Architects Network also funded a scholar this year who has expressed interest in residential architecture. Recipients of the 2018-2019 Diversity Advancement Scholarships will be recognized at the AIA Conference on Architecture (A’18) in New York.

Eight scholarship recipients, including new scholars Maly Sears and Caroline Senyszyn, will attend A’18 this week, which was made possible in part by Benjamin Moore & Co. Foundation, ConstructConnect, Cooper Carry, and Lord Aeck Sargent.

The 2018-2019 Diversity Advancement Scholarship recipients are:

  • Esmeralda Aceituno of Los Angeles
  • Daniel Allen of Chicago
  • Elizabeth Amigon of Sunnyside, New York
  • Annabelle Asali of Los Angeles
  • Shanelle Brown of Fairhope, Alabama
  • Nina Crosby Walton of Frederick, Maryland
  • Andrea De Haro of Doral, Florida
  • Genesis Gadberry of San Angelo, Texas
  • Isabella Greco of Chicago
  • Joya Ma of Phoenix
  • Lauren McLean of Mount Vernon, New York
  • Hana Morrison of Honolulu (scholar funded by AIA Custom Residential Architects Network)
  • Amy Rojas of San Antonio
  • Sarah Saad of East Elmhurt, New York
  • Maly Sears of Adrian, Missouri (scholar funded by Benjamin Moore & Co. Foundation)
  • Caroline Senyszyn of Fort Worth, Texas (scholar funded by Benjamin Moore & Co. Foundation)
  • Luiza Vara of Phoenix
  • Ania Yee-Boguinskaia of Houston
  • Nahom Zeleke of Columbia, Alabama
  • Carolina Zuniga of Doral, Florida

Complete details of the Architects Foundation’s scholarship program are available online.

About AIA

Founded in 1857, AIA consistently works to create more valuable, healthy, secure, and sustainable buildings, neighborhoods, and communities. Through more than 200 international, state and local chapters, AIA advocates for public policies that promote economic vitality and public wellbeing.

AIA provides members with tools and resources to assist them in their careers and business as well as engaging civic and government leaders and the public to find solutions to pressing issues facing our communities, institutions, nation, and world. Members adhere to a code of ethics and conduct to ensure the highest professional standards.


Matt Tinder

Image credits

Back to media center list