Designs that help heal receive Healthcare Design Awards

Awards program highlights latest trends in healthcare facility designs.

WASHINGTON – July 30, 2018 – The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Academy of Architecture for Health (AAH) is recognizing seven projects with its Healthcare Design Awards for cutting-edge designs that help solve aesthetic, civic, urban and social problems while also being functional and sustainable.

Details for each of the awarded projects are available online.

AIA/AAH bestows the awards annually for leading healthcare building design, healthcare planning and healthcare design-oriented research. The seven projects were honored at the AIA AAH/ACHA Summer Leadership Summit in Chicago on Saturday, July 28. Projects were awarded by the 7-member jury in the following categories.

“Category A Built” represents a project with a construction cost that was less than $25 million:

o    Story County Medical Center Outpatient Unit Expansion, Nevada, Iowa | INVISION Architecture;

o    Maggie's Centre Barts, London, United Kingdom | Steven Holl Architects; Associate Architect: jmarchitects.

“Category B Built” represents a project with a construction cost that was more than $25 million:

o    Lucile Packard Children's Hospital Stanford, Palo Alto, California | Perkins+Will and HGA Architects and Planners;

o    Memorial Sloan Kettering Monmouth, Monmouth, New Jersey | Perkins+Will;

o    Cedars Sinai Advanced Health Sciences Pavilion, Los Angeles | HOK.

“Category C Renovations/Remodels” represents a project primarily built within an existing hospital or clinical space or the adaptive reuse of an existing building to a healthcare use:

o    Cedars-Sinai, Playa Vista Physician Office & Urgent Care, Playa Vista, California | ZGF Architects LLP.

“Category D Unbuilt” represents a project commissioned for compensation by a client with the authority and intention to build:

o    Eastside Health Clinic, Portland, Oregon | Ankrom Moisan Architects.

Visit AIA’s website for more information on the AIA/AAH Healthcare Design Awards.

About AIA

Founded in 1857, AIA consistently works to create more valuable, healthy, secure, and sustainable buildings, neighborhoods, and communities. Through more than 200 international, state and local chapters, AIA advocates for public policies that promote economic vitality and public wellbeing.

AIA provides members with tools and resources to assist them in their careers and business as well as engaging civic and government leaders and the public to find solutions to pressing issues facing our communities, institutions, nation, and world. Members adhere to a code of ethics and conduct to ensure the highest professional standards.


Matt Tinder

Image credits

Back to media center list