Best new homes honored with AIA’s 2019 Housing Awards

Award recognizes single family, production, multifamily, and specialized housing projects.

WASHINGTON – May 2, 2019 - The American Institute of Architects (AIA) is recognizing 12 exceptional residential designs with its 2019 Housing Awards. Complete details for each of the awarded projects can be reviewed on AIA’s website.  

AIA’s Housing Awards program, now in its 19th year, was established to recognize the best in housing design for new construction, renovations and restorations. Each year projects are awarded based on four different categories: one- and two-family custom residences; one- and two-family production homes; multifamily housing; and specialized housing.

This year’s recipients were selected by a five-member jury that evaluated projects for demonstrating design excellence. Additionally, the jury evaluates whether designs are sustainable, affordable, durable, innovative, socially impactful, meeting client needs, and addressing the natural and built contexts. The 2019 Housing Award recipients are:

Category 1 - One- and Two-Family Custom Residences

Category 2 - One- and Two-Family Production Homes

Category 3 - Multifamily Housing

Category 4 - Specialized Housing

Visit AIA’s website for more information on the housing awards program.

About AIA

Founded in 1857, AIA consistently works to create more valuable, healthy, secure, and sustainable buildings, neighborhoods, and communities. Through more than 200 international, state and local chapters, AIA advocates for public policies that promote economic vitality and public wellbeing.

AIA provides members with tools and resources to assist them in their careers and business as well as engaging civic and government leaders and the public to find solutions to pressing issues facing our communities, institutions, nation, and world. Members adhere to a code of ethics and conduct to ensure the highest professional standards.


Ben Wills
Back to media center list