AIA elevates 88 members and two international architects to the College of Fellows

AIA fellowship recognizes significant contributions to the profession of architecture and society.

WASHINGTON – Feb. 25, 2022 – The American Institute of Architects (AIA) is elevating 88 member-architects to its College of Fellows, an honor awarded to members who have made significant contributions to the architecture profession.

The fellowship program was developed to elevate architects who have achieved a standard of excellence in the profession and made a significant contribution to architecture and society on a national level. Prospective candidates must have at least 10 years of AIA membership and demonstrated influence in at least one of the following areas:

  • Elevated the aesthetic, scientific, and practical efficiency of the profession;
  • Promoted the science and art of planning and building by advancing the standards of architectural education, training or practice;
  • Coordinated the building industry and the profession of architecture through leadership in the AIA or other related professional organizations; or
  • Advanced the living standards of people through an improved environment.

Fellows are selected by a seven-member Jury of Fellows. This year’s jury included Chair Steven Spurlock, FAIA, Quinn Evans Architects; Rainy Hamilton Jr., FAIA, Hamilton Anderson Associates; Lisa Lamkin, FAIA, Brown Reynolds Watford Architects, Inc.; Rebecca Lewis, FAIA, DSGW Architects; RK Stewart, FAIA, RK Stewart Consultants; Allison Williams, FAIA, AGWms_studio and Anna Wu, FAIA, University of North Carolina.

The newly elevated members and their AIA component affiliations are listed below. For complete details and images, visit the fellows directory.

 Michelle Mongeon Allen  AIA Minnesota  

Ricardo A. Alvarez-Diaz  AIA Puerto Rico  

Kjell M. Anderson  AIA Washington Council  

Alicia M. Belton  AIA Minnesota  

Glen E. Berry  AIA Idaho  

John P. Blood  AIA Texas Society of Architects  

Victor F. Body- Lawson  AIA New York State  

Carla Bonacci  AIA New Jersey  

Jason D. Boyer  AIA Arizona  

Craig D. Brandt  AIA Illinois  

Yanitza Brongers-Marrero  AIA Ohio  

Sarah M. Broughton  AIA Colorado  

Peter H. Brown  AIA Minnesota  

Lori A. Brown  AIA New York State  

Patrick J. Burke  AIA New Jersey  

Robert Busch  AIA Ohio  

Hans E. Butzer  AIA Oklahoma  

Margaret M. Carney  AIA New York State  

Michael T. Cetera  AIA New York State  

Abigail L. Clary  AIA Illinois  

Jonathan J. Cohn  AIA New York State  

Peter D. Cook  AIA Washington D.C.  

David T. Darling  AIA California

Paul M. Dennehy  AIA Texas Society of Architects  

Ursula E. Emery Mc Clure  AIA Louisiana  

Marc W. Fairbrother  AIA Washington D.C.  

David J. Frey  AIA California

Douglas J. Gallow Jr.  AIA Ohio  

Gregory R. Gidez  AIA Colorado  

Amy E. Gilbertson  AIA Missouri  

Kurt W. Haapala  AIA Oregon  

Jeffrey J. Hausman  AIA Michigan  

D. Michael Hellinghausen  AIA Texas Society of Architects  

Milton E. Hime  AIA Texas Society of Architects  

Anne Holford-Smith  AIA New York State  

Kathryn L. Horne  AIA North Carolina  

Eric Howeler  AIA Massachusetts  

Keelan P. Kaiser  AIA California

Nathan F. Knutson  AIA Minnesota  

Steven A. Kordalski  AIA Ohio  

Angela Lee  Unassigned  

Roger K. Leib  AIA California

Britt Lindberg  AIA California

Gregory A. Luhan  AIA Kentucky  

Kenneth H. Luker  AIA North Carolina  

Paul L. Macheske  AIA Florida  

Kevin B. Miller  AIA Utah  

Kiel K. Moe  AIA Vermont  

Dorian A. Moore  AIA Michigan  

William S. Mullane  AIA Texas Society of Architects  

Robert M. Noblett  AIA Massachusetts  

Sam E. Nunes  AIA California

Stephen C. Pickard  AIA Texas Society of Architects  

Anthony C. Poon  AIA California

Steven H. Rajninger  AIA California

Robin R. Randall  AIA Illinois  

Ignacio J. Reyes  AIA Florida  

Eric M. Roberts  AIA Nevada  

J Lee Rofkind  AIA Hong Kong

Daniel K. Rothschild  AIA Pennsylvania  

Michael T. Roush  AIA California

Mark J. Ryan  AIA Arizona  

Mark Schendel  AIA Illinois  

Joanna Schmickel  AIA Washington D.C.  

Lawrence J. Schnuck  AIA Wisconsin  

Steven C. Schultz  AIA Texas Society of Architects  

Theresa Sheils  AIA Washington D.C.  

Keith A. Simon  AIA Texas Society of Architects  

Julie M. Skolnicki  AIA Washington D.C.

Charles T. Smith  AIA Illinois  

Stephen A. Smith  AIA Missouri  

Michael J. Smith  AIA California    

Randy M. Sovich  AIA Maryland  

Ron M. Stelmarski  AIA Texas Society of Architects  

Tod R. Stevens  AIA Michigan  

Winifred A. Stopps  AIA Massachusetts  

Mark E. Trier  AIA Kentucky  

Jodi L. van der Wiel  AIA Ohio  

Tania L. Van Herle  AIA California

Randall C. Vaughn  AIA Kentucky  

Benjamin Waechter  AIA Oregon  

Alexander B. White  AIA Indiana  

Sarah J. Woodhead  AIA Washington D.C.  

James W. Woolum  AIA California

Kimberly K. Yao  AIA New York State  

Albert F. Zaccone  AIA New Jersey  

Stas Zakrzewski  AIA New York State  

Willy L. Zambrano  AIA New York State  

The AIA Honorary Fellowship program honors international architects for their exceptional work and contributions to architecture and society on an international level. Two honorary fellows are being elevated this year by the 2022 Jury of Honorary Fellows. This year’s honorary fellows are:

Waro  Kishi      Japan      

Laurent J. Duport      France    

AIA Honorary Fellows are selected by a nine-member Jury of Fellows and Honorary Fellows. This year’s jury included Chair Jane Duncan, Hon. FAIA, Royal Institute of British Architects; James Atkins, FAIA, Atkins Consulting; Rainy Hamilton Jr., FAIA, Hamilton Anderson Associates; Lisa Lamkin, FAIA, Brown Reynolds Watford Architects, Inc.; Rebecca Lewis, FAIA, DSGW Architects; Steven Spurlock, FAIA, Quinn Evans Architects; RK Stewart, FAIA, RK Stewart Consultants; Allison Williams, FAIA, AGWms_studio and Anna Wu, FAIA, University of North Carolina.

About AIA

Founded in 1857, AIA consistently works to create more valuable, healthy, secure, and sustainable buildings, neighborhoods, and communities. Through more than 200 international, state and local chapters, AIA advocates for public policies that promote economic vitality and public wellbeing.

AIA provides members with tools and resources to assist them in their careers and business as well as engaging civic and government leaders and the public to find solutions to pressing issues facing our communities, institutions, nation, and world. Members adhere to a code of ethics and conduct to ensure the highest professional standards.


Matt Tinder
202 626 7462
Back to media center list