AIA elevates 76 architects to the College of Fellows

AIA fellowship recognizes significant contributions to the profession of architecture and society.

WASHINGTON – February 21, 2023 – The American Institute of Architects (AIA) is elevating 73 member-architects and three non-member-architects to its College of Fellows, an honor awarded to architects who have made significant contributions to the profession.

The fellowship program was developed to elevate architects who have achieved a standard of excellence in the profession and made a significant contribution to architecture and society on a national level. Prospective candidates must have at least 10 years of AIA architect membership and demonstrated influence in at least one of the following areas:

  • Promoted the aesthetic, scientific, and practical efficiency of the profession.
  • Advanced the science and art of planning and building by advancing the standards of practice.
  • Coordinated the building industry, and the profession of architecture.
  • Ensured the advancement of the living standards of people through their improved environment.
  • Made the profession of ever-increasing service to society.
  • Advanced the science and art of planning and building by advancing the standards of architectural education and training.

Fellows are selected by a seven-member Jury of Fellows. This year’s jury included Chair RK Stewart, FAIA, RK Stewart Consultants; Carl D'Silva, FAIA, Perkins + Will; Lisa Lamkin, FAIA, Brown Reynolds Watford Architects, Inc.; Rebecca Lewis, FAIA, DSGW Architects; Pamela Rew, FAIA, KSS Architects; Anne Schopf, FAIA, Mahlum and Allison Williams, FAIA, AGWms_studio.

The newly elevated members and their AIA component affiliations are listed below. For complete details and images, visit the fellows directory.

  • Ronald Abo      AIA Colorado      
  • James Richard Alsop      AIA North Carolina      
  • Steven Kelly Alspaugh      AIA Indiana      
  • Abimbola Asojo      AIA Minnesota      
  • Sara Beardsley      AIA Illinois      
  • Bernita Beikmann      AIA Texas Society of Architects      
  • David Block      AIA Illinois      
  • Dan Brunn      AIA California Council      
  • Charles Cash      AIA Kentucky      
  • Jason Chandler      AIA Florida      
  • Yew Kee Cheong      AIA International Chapters and US Territories      
  • Christos Chrysiliou      AIA California Council      
  • Craig Copeland      AIA New York State      
  • Justin Crane      AIA Massachusetts      
  • Lance Davis      AIA Washington DC      
  • Jonathan Feldman      AIA California Council      
  • Steven David Flanagan      AIA California Council      
  • Tenna Florian      AIA Texas Society of Architects      
  • Mary Follenweider      AIA California Council      
  • Xuan Fu      AIA Illinois      
  • Sanford Garner      AIA Indiana      
  • James Garrett      AIA Minnesota      
  • Richard Graves      AIA Minnesota      
  • Todd Grover      AIA Minnesota      
  • Ravi Gunewardena      AIA California Council      
  • Maureen Guttman      AIA Pennsylvania      
  • Daniel-Christopher (Neil) Hall      AIA Florida      
  • Douglas Hanson      AIA California Council      
  • Marnique Heath      AIA Washington DC      
  • Jason Holuby      AIA Oklahoma      
  • Adele Houghton      AIA Texas Society of Architects      
  • Ping Jiang      AIA International Chapters and US Territories      
  • Nathan Johnson      AIA Minnesota      
  • Walter Jones      AIA Ohio      
  • Nerin Kadribegovic      AIA California Council      
  • Neil Katz      AIA New York State      
  • Joongsub Kim      AIA Michigan      
  • Susan Kliman      AIA North Dakota      
  • Varun Kohli      AIA New York State      
  • William LaPatra      AIA Washington Council      
  • Bryan Lijewski      AIA Michigan      
  • Andrea Love      AIA Massachusetts      
  • William Mallari      AIA Maryland      
  • Nea Maloo      AIA Washington DC      
  • Kenneth Martin      AIA Virginia      
  • Ryan McEnroe      AIA Washington DC      
  • Mike McGlone      AIA Texas Society of Architects      
  • Anne Mooney      AIA Utah      
  • Frances Moore      AIA California Council      
  • Jack Morgan      AIA Oklahoma      
  • Diana Nicklaus      AIA Massachusetts      
  • Victor Olgyay      AIA Colorado      
  • Yen Ong      AIA Texas Society of Architects      
  • Gregg Pasquarelli      AIA New York State      
  • Janet Pogue McLaurin      AIA Washington DC      
  • Martin Primmer      AIA Kentucky      
  • Robert Reis      AIA Virginia      
  • James Richard      AIA Arizona    
  • Joseph Ruocco      AIA Washington DC      
  • Timothy Schroeder      AIA Iowa      
  • Mark Schwamel      AIA Illinois      
  • Jeremy R. M. Shannon      AIA New York State      
  • Cass Smith      AIA California Council      
  • Jodi Smits Anderson      AIA New York State      
  • Christian Sottile      AIA Georgia      
  • R. Brandon Sprague      AIA Nevada      
  • Brian Tibbs      AIA Tennessee      
  • Brad Tomecek      AIA Colorado      
  • Theodore Touloukian      AIA Massachusetts      
  • Mark Walsh      AIA Illinois      
  • Angela Ward Hyatt      AIA Massachusetts      
  • Rob Whitehead      AIA Iowa      
  • Robin Whitehurst      AIA Illinois  

The AIA Honorary Fellowship program honors international architects for their exceptional work and contributions to architecture and society on an international level. Three honorary fellows are being elevated this year by the 2023 Jury of Honorary Fellows. This year’s honorary fellows are:

  • Xiangming Huang      Shanghai, China      
  • Philip F. Yuan      Shanghai, China      
  • Jiang Wu      Shanghai, China  

AIA Honorary Fellows are selected by a nine-member Jury of Fellows and Honorary Fellows. This year’s jury included Chair James Atkins, FAIA, Atkins Consulting; Sandra Barclay, Hon. FAIA, Barclay & Crousse Architecture; Rainy Hamilton Jr., FAIA, Hamilton Anderson Associates; Lisa Lamkin, FAIA, Brown Reynolds Watford Architects, Inc.; Rebecca Lewis, FAIA, DSGW Architects; Carl D'Silva, FAIA, Perkins + Will; RK Stewart, FAIA, RK Stewart Consultants; Allison Williams, FAIA, AGWms_studio and Anne Schopf, FAIA, Mahlum.

New fellows will be honored at a ceremony during the AIA Conference on Architecture 2023 in San Francisco.  Learn more about fellowship on AIA’s website.

About AIA

Founded in 1857, AIA consistently works to create more valuable, healthy, secure, and sustainable buildings, neighborhoods, and communities. Through more than 200 international, state and local chapters, AIA advocates for public policies that promote economic vitality and public wellbeing.

AIA provides members with tools and resources to assist them in their careers and business as well as engaging civic and government leaders and the public to find solutions to pressing issues facing our communities, institutions, nation, and world. Members adhere to a code of ethics and conduct to ensure the highest professional standards.


Matt Tinder
202 626 7462
Back to media center list