Honors + Awards

2019 Honors + Awards Recipients

AIA Memphis Design Awards

The annual AIA Memphis Design Awards celebrate the best of architecture and design created by Memphis architects in the city and beyond. Each year, the Design Awards feature a jury comprised of notable architects chosen from a single city who come together in their hometown to review the year’s submitted projects.

Learn more about the AIA Memphis Design Awards

Francis Gassner Award

The Francis Gassner Award was established in 1977 to commemorate an extraordinary architect, Francis P. Gassner, FAIA, who practiced in Memphis from 1950′s until his death in 1977. To continue his legacy of design excellence, of service to the profession, and of leadership to our community, each year AIA Memphis honors an architect or member of a related profession for outstanding contributions to the quality of the built environment in Memphis.

See the 2019 Francis Gassner Award recipient

Learn more about the Francis Gassner Award and past recipients

Francis Gassner Award Call for nominations is closed.

Member Service Award and Firm Service Award

The impact made by the profession in communities across our city and beyond reaches far past the buildings and communities we design through fee-based work. Many are volunteering and offering pro-bono services to support organizations that are at the heart of social, economic and environmental change. To highlight these stories, we are launching the Member Service Award to recognize an individual for an outstanding single or reoccurring contribution to the community through service, design or design thinking outside of fee-based work.

Member Service Award Call for nominations will open September 2019

Firm Service Award Call for nominations will open September 2019

Twenty-five Year Award Call for nominations will open September 2019

Blueprint for Better Award Call for nominations will open September 2019

AIA Memphis Design Awards Call for nominations will open September 2019

Regional and National Awards

The following awards and grants are through the American Institute of Architects at the local, state, regional and national level. We encourage you to check back as new grant and award deadlines are announced:

AIA Tennessee

AIA Gulf States


Image credits

HBG Service Award

Philip Murphy Photography