Meet the 2019 Board of Directors


Board Photos_Grid

President: Megan Harte, AIA EDAC, LEED AP

Megan is an architect, planner and co-founder of 845 Design Group, a community focused architectural design firm. Her graduate studies in architecture at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, focusing on design integration, uncovered her passion for designing in harmony. Upon receiving her master's degree, Megan has spent the past several years of her career specializing in the healthcare and life science markets, and has worked on a variety of projects from small rural health clinics to large community hospitals. As a principal at 845 Design Group, Megan focuses on healthcare and interiors clients while also managing the firm’s business development efforts. Megan's design background has influenced her compassionate approach to creating holistic solutions, and has guided her responsibility as an architect to create responsive and sustainable environments for her clients.

Megan has been an active member of the AIA since 2006, and has served on the AIA Northeast Illinois Board of Directors since 2014. While on the AIA NEI Board, Megan has held the role of Director, Vice-President/President Elect and is currently the 2019 Board President. Megan has been actively involved in the Chapter’s Sponsorship, Programs and Membership Committees.

VP/ President Elect: Brian Scully, AIA LEED AP

Brian is an architect and project manager for Itasca-based DLA Architects, Ltd., a top-30 firm nationwide in the K-12 education market. At the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, he earned both his Bachelors in Science in Architectural Studies and his Master of Architecture degrees with a focus on integrated design. As a project manager for DLA, Brian has worked on everything from parking lots to major renovations to brand-new school buildings. His attention to detail benefits his numerous clients including nearly a dozen school districts. A father of two, working with schools means a lot to him; every day he has the opportunity to improve the daily lives of the students. He makes a difference, working as a partner in developing long-range plans and designing spaces that support and enhance educational delivery.

Brian has been an AIA member since college as part of AIAS at the University of Illinois. He has been part of the Northeast Illinois chapter since 2014, serving on the Board since 2017. Brian has previously held the position of Director and Secretary. Today, he chairs the Sponsorship committee and is the Vice-President/President-Elect. Brian will be the 2020 Board President.

Secretary: Jeffrey Minor, AIA LEED AP

Jeff is an architect with over 13 years of experience. He is currently a senior project manager at Ethos Workshop Architects in their Naperville office.  At Ethos Workshop he has managed the design and construction administration of hospitality and commercial projects throughout the Midwest.  In addition to managing projects at Ethos, Jeff also manages the firms CEU program and BIM standards.  His graduate studies in architecture at the University of Pennsylvania cultivated a passion for material expression and the unlimited potential of digital design and BIM integration.  Prior to joining Ethos Workshop, he gained experience at design firms in Ann Arbor, Philadelphia, New York and Chicago; Including a year as a designer at Rafael Vinoly Architects in New York.    

Jeff has been a member of the AIA since 2010 and joined the Northeast Illinois board as a director in 2018.  He is currently the 2019 Secretary of the board and the Chair of the Digital Communications Committee.

Treasurer: Daniel Bryan, AIA

Dan has been a member of AIA-NEI for over 25 years and has served as Secretary, Treasurer, V.P and President of the chapter.  He has owned and operated his own architectural firm in Hinsdale since 1990 specializing in high-end residential design and construction. He and his wife are proud of their three children and share passions for music, travel and gardening.

Dan received his Bachelors of Architecture from Iowa State University and continued on to complete his graduate studies in Architecture and Business at the University of Illinois at Urbana - Champaign.

Immediate Past President: Dan Purpura, AIA

One-Year Directors: Heidi Granke, AIA

Two-Year Director: J. Andrew Ouper, AIA LEED AP, NCARB

Dedicated to client service, Andy is a passionate licensed architect focused on understanding each of his client’s needs, goals, and values by listening and delivering exceptional building designs.  Andy believes in developing innovative strategies and creative design solutions which are unique to each specific client he serves.  This philosophy has resulted in over $70 million of completed projects located in northeast Illinois and southeast Wisconsin covering a diverse range of building typologies.  Completed projects include multiple retail developments, many projects in the municipal realm, several community recreation centers, an indoor natatorium addition, public high school remodeling projects, a historic barn restoration, and a surgery center building addition for a private orthopedics practice.  By nurturing client relationships, Andy has earned repeat business from multiple clients while employed at different area architecture firms.

Two-Year Director: Michael Becker, AIA

Three-Year Director: G. Iain Dickie, AIA, PMP

Iain is an accomplished architectural professional with 30+ years of experience. Current role is that of Director of Architecture for the Chicago based firm of Virtual Energy Solutions, Inc. Project experience is wide ranging and includes health care, civic, commercial, institutional and higher-educational program types.  Current project leadership role is managing diverse multi-discipline project teams, active interface with client/stakeholders, scheduling/budgeting, managing contracts, technical oversight, and business development. Comprehensive knowledge of all phases of the project delivery process: conception through activation. Primary market focus is the Midwest but is also active in southern and southeastern United States. Credentials include professional licensure/registration in 16 states, active member of the American Institute of Architects, NCARB certification, Project Management Professional (PMP), and LEED AP.

Three-Year Director: Maggie Krieger, AIA  

Associate Director: Laurie Hoffman, Assoc. AIA  

Laurie currently works at RGLA Solutions Inc. in Schiller Park. She received her Bachelors of Architecture from the Illinois Institute of Technology and completed her graduate studies in Infrastructure Planning and Management with the University of Washington. She has been working in the industry since 2011 with project experience spanning Education, Healthcare, Retail and Residential in both the New York and Chicago-land markets.

Laurie has been an Associate AIA member since 2011 and has been a member of the NEI Chapter since 2016.. She currently serves as the Associate Director and participates on the Digital Communications Committee.

Affiliate Director: Melissa S. Roberts, Affiliate AIA

AIA Illinois Delegate: Leanne Meyer-Smith, AIA, LEED AP

Image credits

Board Photos_Grid