AIA Utah Committees

Anyone can participate! Learn how!


We rely on our volunteers - Architect, Associate, Emeritus, Fellows and Allied Members - to help shape the role that good design plays in creating better spaces for live, work, and play. With over 650 members, AIA Utah promotes positive change through the power of design.

AIA Utah Committees all have two co-chairs. One chair is a member of the Board of Directors. Committee Responsibilities for each board member can be found here.

View the AIA Utah committee calendar and schedule here.

BEC / Committee On The Environment (COTE)

Our Mission:

To provide Building Envelope education that is relevant to Utah Built Environment practitioners. The BEC committee works to elevate talent and help our members compete in varied markets.

Chairs: Bryan Markkanen, AIA

Honors and Awards Committee

The honors and awards committee is dedicated to recognizing the best architecture in Utah.

Meeting Dates and Times: 4th Tuesday of each month, 9:00-10:00am

Chair:  Daniel Rogers, AIA

Government Affairs Committee

Our Mission:

To promote and enhance the health and safety of all Utahans in the built environment through relationship building, and lobbying of government officials.

2022 Session Tracking Sheet

The Government Affairs Committee meets EVERY WEDNESDAY from 8am - 9:30am during Legislative Session (through March 4, 2022.) Please see the link below for our digital meeting.


Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 858 0828 2999

Passcode: 758558

Co Chair: RK Stewart, FAIA

Co Chair: Jackson Ferguson, AIA

Community Relations (CR) Committee

Our Mission:

We are the voice of AIA Utah connecting the members, the public and our communities throughout the region.

Chairs: Fran Pryun

Equity by Design (EQxD)

Our Mission:

To educate the design community on the importance of equitable practices and the value of diverse individuals in order to foster inclusive and equitable environments, processes, and policies; and eliminate explicit and implicit bias in the built environment and profession.

Chairs: Jessica Symons, Lisa Henry Benham

Urban Design Committee

Our Mission:

We  communicate and research significant public or private development in the state of Utah. The group serves as a community resource to promote and advocate on behalf of a better built environment for Utah.

Chairs:  Soren Simonsen, FAIA

Young Architects’ Forum (YAF)

Our Mission:

The AIA Utah Young Architects Forum's purpose is to encourage the participation of younger members in AIA Utah’s programs and activities, and to assist young designers in their professional growth and to educate the public about the value of quality design.

Chair: Markus Johnson

Member Relations Committee

Our Mission:

We aim to attract and retain members by promoting and refining internal member communications, creating a dynamic yearly calendar and hosting new member related services and events.

Looking for AIA Professional Membership? Click here
Won't you join us? Contact a committee chair and make your mark!

Image credits


AnikShrestha flickr Creative Commons