Twenty-five Year Award Submission hero

The Monterey Bay Aquarium by EHDD, the 2016 recipient of the AIA Twenty-five Year Award.

The Twenty-five Year Award showcases buildings that set a precedent. Conferred on a building that has stood the test of time for 25-35 years and continues to set standards of excellence for its architectural design and significance.


  • AIA chapters, Knowledge Communities, and members may submit nominations


  • must have been completed between 1982 and 1992
  • must have been designed by a U.S.-licensed architect at the time of the project’s completion
  • must be in a substantially completed form, in good condition, and not fundamentally altered from its original intent

Image credits

Twenty-five Year Award Submission hero

Bruce Damonte